Exercise 08: Zip Installation
What This Exercise Is About
Now that we have a successfully built and promoted driver, it's important to test it. This lab will
show how to install the new driver from a zip file.
What You Should Be Able To Do
At the end of the
lab, you should be able to:
- Install a project from a zip
- Verify that the project is installed and enabled in Eclipse
Required Materials
- Eclipse 3.4M5
- Eclipse Modeling Framework (EMF) 2.4M5
Exercise Instructions
This exercise is
carried out entirely using the Eclipse Software Development Kit (SDK)
version 3.4M5 with the Eclipse Modeling Framework (EMF) 2.4M5 installed
into it. The exercise instructions refer to this product as either
Eclipse or as "the workbench."
These instructions
are located in your workspace, in the Build_Workshop/Exercise08_ZipInstallation
folder.
Directions
Step A: Update Eclipse from zip file
- Switch to the
Plug-in Development perspective, if not already there.
- Select Window
-> Open Perspective -> Other... -> Plug-in Development.
- Download the a newer JET driver from http://download.eclipse.org/modeling/m2t/downloads/?sortBy=date than the version installed in Exercise 07 (or use one of the provided versions).
- Unpack the zip into a folder near your Eclipse install, but do not unpack it IN your Eclipse install folder.
For example, if your Eclipse is installed in c:\eclipsecon\eclipse, you might unzip into c:\eclipsecon\test-zip-install.
(Really, it doesn't matter where you unzip it, it's just handy to have it nearby.)
- Open any text editor and create a file called eclipseextension.txt.
You can use Eclipse too (File -> New -> File), but you'll have to save the file into a project in your workspace.
- Enter this text into the file:
id=org.eclipse.platform
name=Eclipse Platform
version=3.3.0
- (Re)open that file in Eclipse as a non-workspace file (File -> Open File...).
- Save it into the eclipse folder inside the folder to which you unzipped earlier, and rename it to .eclipseextension
instead of eclipseextension.txt. For example,
c:\eclipsecon\test-zip-install\eclipse\.eclipseextension.
Note that this time Eclipse will let you save the file outside the workspace.
- Open Help -> Manage Configuration.
- Click Add an Extension Location and browse for the folder with the .eclipseextension file,
eg., c:\eclipsecon\test-zip-install\eclipse.
- When prompted, restart Eclipse.
Step B: Verify installation
- Verify the driver is properly installed.
- Open Help -> About Eclipse SDK -> Feature Details. Look for JET features.

- Open Help -> About Eclipse SDK -> Plug-in Details. Look for JET plugins.

- Open Help -> Manage Configuration. Look for JET features. Double-clicking a feature will bring up its properties -- check the Status tab to ensure everything is properly installed.


Summary
You have learned how to test the zip installation of a set of features in Eclipse after building and publishing them to a server.