Exercise 07: Installation
What This Exercise Is About
Now that we have a successfully built and promoted driver, it's important to test it. This lab will
show how to install the new driver from an update site.
What You Should Be Able To Do
At the end of the
lab, you should be able to:
- Install a project from an update site
- Verify that the project is installed and enabled in Eclipse
Required Materials
- Eclipse 3.4M5
- Eclipse Modeling Framework (EMF) 2.4M5
Exercise Instructions
This exercise is
carried out entirely using the Eclipse Software Development Kit (SDK)
version 3.4M5 with the Eclipse Modeling Framework (EMF) 2.4M5 installed
into it. The exercise instructions refer to this product as either
Eclipse or as "the workbench."
These instructions
are located in your workspace, in the Build_Workshop/Exercise07_Installation
folder.
Directions
Step A: Update Eclipse from build server
- Switch to the
Plug-in Development perspective, if not already there.
- Select Window
-> Open Perspective -> Other... -> Plug-in Development.
- Install the new JET driver from http://download.eclipse.org/modeling/m2t/updates/site-interim.xml.
- Select Help -> Software Updates -> Find and Install....
- Select Search for new features. Hit Next.
- Hit New Remote Site, enter the above update site URL, and hit OK.
- IMPORTANT: Uncheck Automatically select mirrors. Hit Finish.
- When prompted for a mirror, scroll to the bottom and select the above URL. DO NOT select a mirror.
- Select a recent JET SDK build. Hit Next.
- Click I accept the terms in the license agreements, then hit Next.
- Optionally, you can select all the features and click Change Location... to install them into a folder outside your Eclipse install.
- Hit Finish.
- When prompted, Install all, then restart Eclipse.
- Or, install from the archived update site zip provided.
- Select Help -> Software Updates -> Find and Install....
- Select Search for new features. Hit Next.
- Hit New Archived Site and browse for the zip file.
- IMPORTANT: Uncheck Automatically select mirrors. Hit Finish.
- When prompted for a mirror, scroll to the bottom and select the above zip. DO NOT select a mirror.
- Select a recent JET SDK build. Hit Next.
- Click I accept the terms in the license agreements, then hit Next.
- Optionally, you can select all the features and click Change Location... to install them into a folder outside your Eclipse install.
- Hit Finish.
- When prompted, Install all, then restart Eclipse.
Step B: Verify installation
- Verify the driver is properly installed.
- Open Help -> About Eclipse SDK -> Feature Details. Look for JET features.

- Open Help -> About Eclipse SDK -> Plug-in Details. Look for JET plugins.

- Open Help -> Manage Configuration. Look for JET features. Double-clicking a feature will bring up its properties -- check the Status tab to ensure everything is properly installed.


Summary
You have learned how to test installation of a set of features in Eclipse after building and publishing them to a server.