Exercise 01: Get Sources
What This Exercise Is About
You will get project sources from CVS as a single project,
then import those to your workspace so that you can compile & edit
the sources as plugin and feature projects.
What You Should Be Able To Do
At the end of the lab, you should be able to:
- Check out a set of plugin and feature projects from CVS to the workspace using a Team Project Set (.psf) file
- Build sources & verify workspace configuration
Required Materials
- Eclipse 3.4M5
- Eclipse Modeling Framework (EMF) 2.4M5
General Advice / Warnings
- In order to simplify some of the tedious tasks you would need to both setup your
environment and perform the exercises, we've created a cheat sheet that should
be used together with these instructions, available in HTML format. Look for this icon
to identify steps you can skip using the cheat sheet.
- Eclipse conventions suggest naming plugin projects with a fully qualified plugin ID, such as com.example.po. Do not use dashes in project names - this will create invalid entries in your MANIFEST.MF file.
- Make sure you're using a 5.0 or later JDK. Sun or IBM are recommended, but others may work too.
- For more on Java Emitter Templates or the JET engine:
Exercise Instructions
This exercise is
carried out entirely using the Eclipse Software Development Kit (SDK)
version 3.4M5 with the Eclipse Modeling Framework (EMF) 2.4M5 installed
into it. The exercise instructions refer to this product as either
Eclipse or as "the workbench."
These instructions
are located in your workspace, in the Build_Workshop/Exercise01_GetSources
folder that was imported by the Setup step of the cheat sheet.
The full solution to this exercise can be installed using the cheat sheet.
Directions
Step A: Method 1 - Check out the projects from CVS
Before you can do anything, you need to check out the projects. Here's how they appear in CVS, organized logically by type:

Directory structure in CVS
However, for them to be useful in Eclipse they all need to be first class (ie.,
not nested) projects. The methods below will ensure this.
- Switch to the
Plug-in Development perspective, if not already there.
- Select Window
-> Open Perspective -> Other... -> Plug-in Development.
- In the Package Explorer view, right-click the file Build_Workshop\Exercise01_GetSources\exercise_01.psf
and select Import..., then select Team -> Team Project Set. Hit Next.
- If not already selected, click Browse... to select the exercise_01.psf file in this directory.
Hit OK, then Finish.
Step A: Method 2 - Import from existing projects using cheat sheet
- Switch to the
Plug-in Development perspective, if not already there.
- Select Window
-> Open Perspective -> Other... -> Plug-in Development.
Use the cheat sheet to copy the sources into the Build_Workshop project.
- In the Package Explorer view, right-click and select Import...,
then select General -> Existing Projects into Workspace. Hit Next.
- Choose Select archive file: then Browse... for Build_Workshop/Solution01.zip in your workspace.
- Hit Finish.
Step B: Compile code & verify environment
- You should have 18 projects checked out in your workspace, in addition to the Build_Workshop project.
- If your workspace is not already configured to automatically build projects, select
Project -> Automatically. Or, you can run builds manually using
Project -> Project or Project -> Build All (CTRL-B).
- If anything won't compile, right-click its project folder and select Properties.
Verify that it's being compiled with the correct compiler under
Java Build Path and Java Compiler. You might need to review your
Java and Eclipse Settings, too.
- If you run into unexplainable errors in the org.eclipse.jet.transforms.* projects, try doing Project -> Clean....
- Once everything compiles, if you have time remaining, you can try out JET, as a preview of Exercise 09:
Summary
You checked out the sources from CVS using a Team Project Set file, then verified that everything would compile. Now it's time to set up a build project. Go on to Exercise 02.